Comparisons

Murf AI Alternatives for Voiceovers in 2026

Murf AI alternatives for voiceovers in 2026: compare ElevenLabs, WellSaid, Speechify Studio, Fish Audio and OndaLabs on published prices, limits and licensing.

10 min read
By OndaLabs Team

Murf is a studio-style voiceover editor that meters usage in hours of voice generation. Its help center lists the Creator plan at 24 hours a year, and its pricing summary lists Creator from $19 a month billed annually. Alternatives differ mainly in how they meter usage and what license the paid plan includes.

This comparison is for creators and teams who make voiceovers for video, training or podcasts. Prices and limits are as of 2026-10-17, taken from each vendor's own pages. Where Murf's pages disagree with each other, this post says so.

What Murf AI offers and what it costs

Murf describes its studio as having 200+ voices and 35+ languages, with 10+ accents. Its pages are not consistent about plan names and limits, so confirm the current tiers on Murf's text to speech page before you buy.

The figures that agree across Murf's pages are these:

  • Free: $0, with 2 projects and 10 minutes of voice generation. Free workspaces cannot download projects.
  • Creator: from $19 a month billed annually, which is $228 a year, with 24 hours of voice generation a year.
  • Business: from $66 a month billed annually, with more hours and more project credits than Creator.
  • Enterprise: custom pricing.

The Business hour allowance differs between Murf's pricing page and its help center, so this post does not quote it. Murf's homepage FAQ also says unlimited voice generation is usually only available on paid plans. Do not treat any Murf plan as unlimited.

How voice generation time works

Murf's billing unit is voice generation time, or VGT. The Murf help article on VGT explains how it is counted:

  • VGT is used when you render a new sub-block or change its text.
  • Changing voice, style, pitch, speed, pauses, emphasis, pronunciation, punctuation or volume on unchanged text uses no VGT.
  • Editing text regenerates the whole sub-block, so a small text edit can cost more than it appears to.
  • A 500-word script that produces 4 minutes and 34 seconds of audio deducts 4:34 from your allowance.
  • A 1,000-word English script is about 6 minutes.

Because of this, the same script can cost different amounts depending on how many times you edit it. Plan for revisions when you estimate your hours.

Why people look for Murf alternatives

People who move away from Murf usually cite one or more of these reasons:

  • They want usage counted per character, per minute or per credit, rather than in hours per year.
  • They need a free tier that allows downloads or a commercial license.
  • They want to clone a voice and cannot see clear self-serve access on the plan they are considering.

Murf's voice cloning page uses a sales contact form as its main call to action, and it does not state which plans include cloning. Murf also lists 20+ languages for cloning. Those details are on the page, but they do not tell you which plan to buy.

Murf AI alternatives compared

The table below uses each tool's entry paid plan and how it meters usage. Units differ, so compare the cost of your own script rather than the headline number.

| Tool | Entry paid plan | How usage is metered | Free plan commercial use | Voice cloning | |---|---|---|---|---| | Murf | Creator, from $19 a month billed annually | Hours of voice generation (24 a year on Creator) | No | Sales contact; plans not stated | | ElevenLabs | Starter, $6 a month | Credits, about 1,000 per minute on plan pages | No; attribution required | Instant from Starter, Professional from Creator | | WellSaid | Starter, $10 a month billed annually | Download minutes (240 a year) | No; free trial has no commercial rights | Not covered in our sources | | Speechify Studio | Starter, $100 a year | Studio credits (86,400 a year) | No; paid plans include rights | Not verified | | Fish Audio | Plus, $15 a month ($11 billed yearly) | Credits (250,000 a month, up to 200 minutes) | Personal use only, per its FAQ | Included; see our Fish Audio review | | OndaLabs | Starter, $9 a month | Credits (170,000 a month, about 189 minutes) | Commercial use from Starter | Custom voices from Creator, 3 voices |

Murf's pages give the Creator plan's voice time as 24 hours a year, which is 2 hours a month. On the other tools, the minute figures come from the vendor's own statements and are not converted by us.

Best Murf alternatives for YouTube and short videos

For channel content, the license on the paid plan matters more than the voice list. Murf says its paid plans give commercial rights, including for YouTube, if the text is original. Check that claim against the plan you choose.

  • ElevenLabs: Paid plans include a commercial license. Free output must credit elevenlabs.io or 11.ai in the title, so use a paid plan for channel or client work. The ElevenLabs pricing page lists the plan details.
  • OndaLabs: Commercial use is included from the Starter plan at $9 a month. The tool offers text to speech, two-speaker dialogue for scripted conversations, and 30 prebuilt voices in every supported language. Its pricing page shows the credit allowance for each tier.
  • Speechify Studio: The paid Studio plans include commercial rights, a voiceover studio, dubbing and a voice changer. The free tier has 600 credits and no commercial usage rights. The Speechify Studio pricing page lists the Starter and Creator plans.

Best Murf alternatives for corporate training and teams

Training teams usually need English narration, clear licensing and predictable seats. WellSaid is the closest fit in this group.

WellSaid's paid plans include full commercial rights. Starter costs $10 a month billed annually, or $120 a year, and includes 240 download minutes a year. Pro costs $33 a month billed annually and includes 2,160 download minutes a year. Business is $160 per user a month billed annually, with up to 5 seats. Its English voices are available on Starter and Pro, and the Enterprise tier adds all languages and translation. Generation is unlimited on paid plans, so download minutes are the real limit. Unused download minutes do not roll over. See the WellSaid pricing page for current details.

Best Murf alternatives for developers

Murf has an API as well. Its Falcon text to speech API costs $0.01 per minute and offers 150+ voices in 35 languages, according to Murf's API page. Other developer options include the following:

  • Fish Audio API: The s2.1-pro model costs $15 per 1M UTF-8 bytes, billed pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimum.
  • SpeechifyAI API: This is billed separately from the Speechify Reader and Studio apps. Plans are Starter at $10 a month, Pro at $99 a month and Scale at $499 a month, which is about 78M characters a month on Scale. Voice cloning is on paid plans only. Speechify's API pricing page has the current terms.

The API is billed separately, and a Reader subscription does not include API usage.

How to choose: five questions

Use these questions to narrow the list before you test any voice:

  1. How does the tool count usage? Hours per year, credits, download minutes and characters all produce different totals for the same script.
  2. Does the paid plan include commercial rights for what you publish? Read the license on the plan, not only the free tier.
  3. Do you need downloads on the free tier? Murf's free workspace cannot download projects.
  4. Which languages and accents do your scripts use? Vendors count languages differently, so check your own scripts.
  5. Do you need an editor, dialogue or an API? A studio editor, a two-speaker dialogue tool and an API are different products.

Where OndaLabs fits

OndaLabs is an AI voice studio. It offers text to speech with 30 prebuilt voices that work in every supported language, two-speaker dialogue, speech to text, custom voices, and image and music generation. Everything draws from one credit balance. Delivery is directed with plain words and supported expressive tags in the script.

OndaLabs meters in credits per character. Onda Lite costs 1 credit per character and is included on every plan. Onda Flash costs 1.5 credits per character and needs a paid plan. It does not meter in hours per year, so you will need to convert your script length into credits before you compare. The Free plan includes 2,000 credits a month, about 2 minutes. This post makes no claims about video editing, timelines or team collaboration, because those are outside the facts we could verify.

If your work is a short narration with a two-speaker script, try text to speech or two-speaker dialogue and compare the output with Murf. For voiceover tool details, see our ElevenLabs alternatives guide and Speechify alternatives guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best alternative to Murf AI?

There is no single best option. If you need a studio editor with hour-based billing, Murf may still fit. If you need credit-based pricing, commercial rights on a low tier, or dialogue, compare ElevenLabs, WellSaid, Speechify Studio, Fish Audio and OndaLabs against your own script length.

How much does Murf AI cost?

Murf's pricing page lists Creator from $19 a month billed annually, which is $228 a year, with 24 hours of voice generation a year. Business starts from $66 a month billed annually. Murf's pages are not consistent about Business hours, so check murf.ai/pricing before you buy.

Does Murf AI have a free plan, and can I use it commercially?

Murf has a Free plan with 10 minutes of voice generation and 2 projects. The free plan has no commercial license, and free workspaces cannot download projects. Paid plans include commercial rights, according to Murf's own statements.

How is Murf voice generation time counted?

Voice generation time is used when you render a new sub-block or change its text. Changing voice settings on unchanged text uses none. Editing text regenerates the whole sub-block, so a 500-word script that produces 4:34 of audio deducts 4:34.

Does Murf support voice cloning?

Murf offers voice cloning from uploaded audio or a studio recording, and it lists 20+ languages for cloning. Its cloning page uses a sales contact form, and it does not clearly state which plans include self-serve cloning. Ask Murf directly before you plan a project around it.