Read Aloud for Students: Free and Paid Tools Compared
Read aloud for students and teachers: free built-in tools from Microsoft, Apple and Google, plus Read&Write, Speechify, Bookshare and more, compared as of 2026.
Read aloud for students usually starts with tools already on the device. Microsoft Immersive Reader is free in Word, OneNote, Edge and other Microsoft apps, Chromebooks include Read aloud in Reading mode, and iPhone and iPad include Spoken Content. Dedicated apps add word highlighting and more features. Bookshare is free for qualified US students.
This guide compares free built-in tools, dedicated apps and school programmes, with prices as published in October 2026. It also covers which tool suits which student, tips for teachers and the legal context in the US and EU.
Which free tools are already on the device?
Start here before you buy anything. The table lists the built-in options with the details the pages confirm.
| Tool | Cost as published | Platforms | Word highlighting | |---|---|---|---| | Microsoft Immersive Reader | Free | Word, OneNote, Edge, Teams, Forms, Outlook (desktop and web) and Excel | Not stated on the pages read. It does offer parts-of-speech highlighting. | | Microsoft Edge Read aloud | Not stated on the page read | Edge, including Edge for iOS and Android | Not stated on the page read | | Chrome Reading mode Read aloud | No price stated | Chromebooks only, per Google | Optional, can be turned on or off | | Apple Spoken Content | Built in | iPhone and iPad | Not confirmed on the pages read |
Sources: Microsoft Learning Tools, Edge Read aloud, Chromebook Reading mode, Apple support.
Immersive Reader is described by Microsoft as a free tool. Its features include text preferences such as font, size and background, read aloud, a picture dictionary, and line focus in some apps. For developers, Microsoft's Azure documentation describes the service as one that "doesn't store any customer data". That statement covers the developer service, not the school apps, so check each product's policy separately.
Which dedicated apps and programmes are worth knowing?
Dedicated apps usually add highlighting, study features or school management. Prices change often, so check each vendor's page before you commit.
| Tool | Cost as published (October 2026) | Notes | |---|---|---| | Read&Write for Education | From $2.75 per seat, per the vendor's page | Text to speech with word highlighting, Screenshot Reader and Audio Maker. Works with Google Docs, Word, PDFs and learning systems such as Canvas, Schoology and Brightspace. Free access for individual K-12 teachers. | | Speechify | Free plan with up to 1.5x speed and 10 voices. Premium is $29 a month billed monthly. | Premium lists 1,000 or more voices, 60 or more languages and up to 5x speed. The yearly price is not shown on the page. | | NaturalReader | A free forever plan. Prices are not shown on the home page. | Personal, Commercial and EDU tiers. EDU lists group licences for as few as 5 users and site licences for a whole school. | | Voice Dream | Price not shown on the page | iPhone, iPad and Mac, with offline listening, a choice of voice and speed, and highlighting | | Bookshare | Free for qualified US students through a federal programme award. Non-student US individual membership is $79.99 a year. | Word-level highlighting and over a million titles | | Learning Ally | Price not shown on the home page | Over 80,000 human-narrated audio e-books for students with dyslexia and other print disabilities |
Sources: Read&Write, Speechify pricing, NaturalReader, Voice Dream, Bookshare, Learning Ally.
Bookshare requires a qualifying print disability, and a professional with appropriate expertise must confirm it. Membership does not depend on an IEP or 504 plan. Bookshare's own pages give different title counts, so this guide says "over a million".
Which tool suits which student?
Match the tool to the need, not to the brand.
- Dyslexia or reading difficulty: try Immersive Reader or Bookshare, which both offer highlighting. Read text to speech for dyslexia for what the research says.
- Language learners: Immersive Reader offers translation and syllable splitting, and Edge reads in your preferred language. See text to speech for language learning.
- Long reading assignments: book libraries such as Bookshare and Learning Ally hold titles that are already narrated, which saves building audio for each page.
- Shared or school devices: built-in options avoid installing new software, though Chrome's Read aloud works only on Chromebooks.
- Teachers making their own materials: an audio file tool such as OndaLabs text to speech can turn a handout into audio.
Tips for teachers
- Let students choose the voice and speed where the tool allows it.
- Pair the audio with the text, so students can see the words they hear.
- Check the licence for any material you convert or share, especially if you sell it.
- Use the principles of Universal Design for Learning. The UDL Guidelines 3.0, released on 30 July 2024, include "Support multiple ways to perceive information" and "Optimize access to accessible materials and assistive and accessible technologies and tools".
- Ask your district about privacy before you enter student data into any tool. The privacy claims for each vendor need to be checked individually.
What is the legal context?
In the US, the IEP team must consider whether a child needs assistive technology devices and services, under 34 CFR 300.324. The regulation defines an assistive technology device in 34 CFR 300.5. The ADA Title II web rule covers public schools, community colleges and public universities. It requires WCAG 2.1 Level AA. After the interim final rule published in April 2026, compliance is due 26 April 2027 for governments serving 50,000 or more people, and 26 April 2028 for smaller ones. A read-aloud tool does not satisfy those rules for a school website, and the WebAIM Million 2026 report found detected WCAG failures on 95.9% of home pages. This is general information, not legal advice.
Where OndaLabs fits
OndaLabs is not a classroom reader and does not offer a student account or education pricing. It creates audio files, which teachers can use for their own materials:
- Turn a handout, class announcement or reading passage into audio with 30 voices and 37 language pages. This can help with multilingual families.
- Use two-speaker dialogue to create a model conversation for students to listen to.
- Use speech to text, at 50 credits per minute, to transcribe recorded lessons or oral answers.
- Start on the Free plan, at $0 with 2,000 credits (about 2 minutes). The Starter plan, at $9, includes commercial use, which matters for teachers who sell materials. Plans are on the pricing page.
- Custom voices, on Creator and above, can be made from a recording you have permission to use, for example a teacher's own voice.
Do not treat OndaLabs as a way to make student data private. Check any vendor's privacy policy with your district before you use student information.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best free read aloud tool for students?
There is no single best tool. Microsoft Immersive Reader is free, and Edge and Chrome include read aloud features. Choose based on the device, the apps students use and whether they need word highlighting. Bookshare is free for qualified US students.
Is Microsoft Immersive Reader free?
Yes. Microsoft describes it as a free tool, and it is available in Word, OneNote, Edge, Teams, Forms, Outlook and Excel. Its features include read aloud, parts-of-speech highlighting and a picture dictionary. Check the current app list on Microsoft's support page before you plan a rollout.
Is there a free read aloud tool for Chromebook?
Yes. Reading mode in Chrome on a Chromebook includes a Read aloud feature with speed, voice choice and optional word highlighting. Google says the feature is available only on Chromebooks. Natural voices for the page language download the first time you use them.
How do I make my iPhone read a page aloud?
Apple's Spoken Content settings, found under Settings, Accessibility, then Spoken Content, include Speak Selection and Speak Screen. You can choose other voices and set the speaking rate there. Menu names vary by iOS version, so follow Apple's support page for your version.
Is Bookshare free for students?
For qualified US students, yes. Bookshare membership is free through an award from the US Office of Special Education Programs. A qualifying print disability must be confirmed by a professional, and eligibility is set by US copyright law, not by an IEP or 504 plan.
What does Read&Write cost for schools?
The vendor's page lists plans from $2.75 per seat, but the footnote with the full terms was not visible when this guide was checked. Ask the vendor for a school quote. The page says individual K-12 teachers get free access to Read&Write.